Resolved Clarifications regarding Destroy Magic, Resist Destroy Magic, and Spirit Lock

Status
Not open for further replies.

Polare

Count
Alliance Rules
Moderator
Seattle Staff
Good afternoon,

After discussion, the following clarifications have been made regarding Destroy Magic, Resist Destroy Magic, and Spirit Lock, and their interactions with one another:

1. This line has been removed from the Destroy Magic scroll:
"Targetting a person or item with a Spirit Lock with this Ritual will Destroy all magic of the appropriate Aspect on both the item and person if appropriate."

2. Resist Destroy Magic may only be triggered if it is on the specific item being targeted. For example, if you have a Spirit Linked item, and the item is targeted with a Destroy Magic, you could use a Resist Destroy Magic on the Item but not the character's Spirit.

3. Any refusable Ritual targeting someone's possessions can be refused as if the person themselves was being targeted (with the same results, i.e. a trip to the Circle).

Here's an example of the end result of these changes:

Let's say Torigg has a Cloak of Darkness and a Preserve Duration on their spirit. They also have two Spirit Locked items; one sword and one shield. All of these batches are Earth aspected.

Torigg has made some really nasty enemies over time, and now a Dragon Mage approaches with a LOT of Destroy Magics.

If the Dragon Mage throws a packet at Torigg with "Spell Destroy Magic Sword, Earth!", and Torigg doesn't have a defense, the sword's Rituals will be destroyed, as will the sword's Spirit Lock portion on their spirit, but their other Rituals won't be destroyed. If Torigg had a Resist Destroy Magic on their sword, they could use it; but they couldn't use one on their Spirit.

If the Dragon Mage throws a packet at Torigg with "Spell Destroy Magic Spirit, Earth!", and Torigg doesn't have a defense, Torigg's Spirit rituals will all be destroyed. The sword and shield's rituals will all also be destroyed, as they "chain" down the Spirit Lock Rituals as per the Spirit Lock text. If Torigg had a Resist Destroy Magic on their Spirit, they could use it; but they couldn't use one on their sword or shield.

In either of the above cases, Torigg could refuse to accept the Destroy Magic and would instead go Resurrect immediately.

-Bryan Gregory
ARC
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top