Dryad Questions

Itaeo

Hello Everyone- I am a very new to LARP (no ex at all) and I was reading over the race packets and had a couple questions (as I'm thinking of trying to create a Dryad after playing NPC's to get the hang of the game)

1) When a New Dryad is entered into a game- is that dryad just newly awakened? OR do/can they be a traveler from another area? This is just a general question.

2) When Dryads sleep- specifically the bark-skin (treelike) Dryads, do they sleep in their tree form so to speak? Or are they under ground like the spore dryads?

3) Because they are good at Herbal lore- do Dryads make good healers? (as I said I'm a total newb and still trying to wade through ALL the threads on the rules forums.)

4) I know Dryads can't use Metal weapons- but can they use a weapon made from Bone/Antler?

Thank you so much for anyone who takes the time to answer this Newbies Questions!

Hello Itaeo,

Welcome to Alliance LARP.

1)This is part of the background story you create for this character. This is really fun to do. Unless your chapter has a requirement for dryads to be newly awaken the character could have been awake for a while already.

2)There is no such information available in the national information package or even my chapter one. In the national package there is a mention of a dryad that explains the dryad physiology is a lot like the other races. “They asked if we were plants, or plant-people, and we laughed and told them ‘No friends, we are like you.’” They basically sleep the same way as other races.

If you decide to go with this idea it may be imposible for your to roleplay this so prepare to have to explain why you say you sleep one way but in reality you don't

3) Although many dryads are healers the skill Herbal lore is for alchemy. It is a requirement to learn alchemy and it allows you to identify alchemy.