Fighting Styles.

So, I'm new to the whole melee fighter deal, and was wondering what everyone thought about the various fighting styles. I used a sword and shield at my last event, but am thinking that I might switch to sword and spear(using two weapon skill.) What's everyone's opinions on varios waepons and fighting styles?

The quality of fighting styles depends entirely on two things :

1. How they fit your character's style.

2. Your OOG skill at fighting.

I've see pretty much every sort of style imaginable, and really none of them have any major advantage over the others beyond the skill of the person using them. Find something you're comfortable with, and fight that.

I'm not a skilled fighter but I've been playing a while and I've fought sowrd and spear / sword and board. First, whatever matches your character concept and is fun for you the player. Second, look at your skills and determine if you are on offense or defense when fighting from the front. Generally defense = shield.

If you have profs then that spear becomes an offensive weapon and if you want to fight kind of aggressively 2 weapons could be your thing. Consider long sword, short sword as well for an offensive style. However, there is a reason most big fighters in the game use a shield - that offensive fighting style is real tough when fighting monsters with carrier attacks and such.

If you have backstabs, you should be doing your damage from behind. I like sword and board on my rogue but I have heard many times that 2 weapons is better. You dish out damage quicker (if you say your damage verbals fast enough to keep up with 2 swords which I never do) Spear would not be one of them though - you'd want 2 swords I think.

If you don't have profs or backstabs, you probably need to block more than do damage. Take a shield.