Metagaming, , , , for good?

Dart

Hello all
I'm Theresa. I'm a new player who played Rhoop last event. I'm moving in the fall so this next weekend is basicly a one shot for me.
I'm new to rp but it seems as though real emotions and fake emotions fade into each other.
Do you guys have any techniques for emotional safety in game?
Rp also gives us the opportunity to play with emotions. That's really valuable but tough to do if you build in-game relationships like you build out of game ones: naturally. It can lead to confusion abut relationships out of game and dull ones in game. Here's my suggestion of a solution: communication. If we establish that you and another player want to build a nemesis relationship while out of game, it's more likely to happen and real feelings are less likely to get hurt.
What do you think of this idea?
Does it pull Larp into acting?
Do you detest "freebee" relationships?

This next larp is a bit of a one shot for me, so I don't have time to figure relationships out in charicter. If you want a feral homeless Rhoop to act as you verbal defender, your antagonist, or your unruly child, please email me at theresadart00@gmail.com. We can figure out a cool relationship to build.
I hope to gleam some cool ideas from this post, as well as some costumed relationships.
thankyouthankyou
Theresa

First of all, metagaming in a LARP context usually refers to people using out of game knowledge in game for your own gain or another's detriment. Like if you know someone has something out of game but your character doesn't and you still use that knowledge against them anyway. Correct me if I'm wrong but thats kind of different from what you're talking about here. This is more of a character building thing from my perspective, and there are people who bounce ideas and stuff off eachother to ensure a better play experience.

Metagaming is never good, but character collaboration can be fantastic.