New player choosing chapter

mguarino

Artisan
Marshal
Hi all,

So I've been playing tabletop RPGs for quite a long time, but I'm completely new to LARP. I'm really excited to try it out; everything I've seen so far looks awesome. However, I'm currently a student at a college in Philadelphia and there don't seem to be any Alliance LARP chapters in the area. As I don't have a car, I'm not really looking for the closest chapter to Philly so much as any chapter that's easily accessible by train/bus/public transit/etc. I'm willing to travel pretty much anywhere within say, five or six hours of Philadelphia. Could anyone recommend a chapter for me?

If there simply aren't any, does anyone know of non-Alliance LARPs that fit the description I'm looking for?

Thanks!
Mike

P.S. This is an extremely long shot, but alternatively, is there anyone out there who's planning on attending an event between now and May and passing through Philly? If you drive me to the event, I'll pay for gas!

Right now you have yer choice of 3 chapters within driving distance of Philly.

The Headquarters chapter is in Montrose PA which is about 3 hours north. I play there, we have a bunch of players from Philly and KoP too.

The Crossroads Chapter is in the Catskills in NY but is about the same drive time as HQ from Philly. I don't play there so I don't know much about it other than it is a level Capped game (lower levels).

And lastly, we will be having the brand new Gettysburg Chapter open this year in... Gettysburg. It's an 18+ chapter with adult themes and I can't freaking wait to play it because I live in Lancaster and it is only an hour and a half away from my house.

You also have the option of the Alliance New Jersey Chapter which is very close to Philly. We are playing at Camp Amity in Waretown, NJ and have a few Philly players who come to our game!

133 Jones Road
Waretown, NJ 08758

about 1 hr 20 mins from Philly!