Newbie templar questions

Hello,

This is my first time joining a LARP and I have a few questions. For the templar out there. I've only decided to have interest in this class because I like the idea of being an earth templar. I like the idea of being able to fight and help out teammates in need. I've been told to try fighter or rogue, and that they are the high tier meta characters. However I've always played a healer warrior role in video games.

1, is it a good idea to pick templar as my starting class?
2, I've been reading these forms and it seems like the popular templar are celestial are earth templar not as good or less popular?
3, I've been told newbies get 29 points to spend what skills should I get with these points.

Please help! It's 5am and I can't sleep just thinking about what and where to spend my points

1) I generally suggest to newer players that come play South Michigan that they start out as a fighter (if they're looking to play a templar), and then transition to Earth Templar as their character levels up. You can change your class at any point you'd like so long as you can afford to do so. Templars really get good at higher levels but, at very low levels you're not doing much because of the costs of all the skills. I recommend your purchase a few weapon proficiencies first. Benefit from the extra body a fighter gets, then start nabbing up spells.

2)Earth Templars are pretty popular. You get a lot of survivability out of the class. And no one ever says no to more healing and life spells. At higher levels, you can stand in the front line and fight, or be in the back and heal.

3) Characters start at 15 build points. Some chapters offer 3 monthly back blankets for free when you start. Which puts you at 29 build.
You'll want to answer these questions first.
What kind of weapon do you want to use?
If it's not two handed, do you want to fight with a shield, or another weapon?
What race do you plan on playing?

29 is a solid starting place.