The Grass is Always Greener: Nobles vs. Commoners

Status
Not open for further replies.

Traceroo

Rogue
I'd like to start a candid and I hope polite conversation about rumors I've heard that there is, "too much noble plot," or at least too much emphasis on nobility in our game for the comfort of the players of commoners.

As one of the players of the 8 PCs with noble title in our game, I can tell you that not an event goes by that I don't hear of some criticism that I perceive to be directed at me, as a player, because I - and the other nobles - are effectively hogging up a bunch of game resources... plot, NPCs, time of the day, prime time of the day, space in the tavern, and so forth.

Probably every-other-event, these rumors are accompanied by part 2 of the admonition, "The noble players really need to understand this," as if we've actually never heard it before.

Let me tell you a bit about my perspective. I've been playing this style of boffer LARP since 1992; I'm wicked old hat. I'm also loud, and outgoing, and charismatic -- by which I mean altogether that I'm pushy! ;) What I really mean to say here is that I'll make my own fun at a game. I come from the school of thought about LARP that it provides the setting for you to make your own entertainment. I don't expect "to be entertained" by anyone else. I'm a mover and a shaker. I work to make my PC relevant -- and I like the courtliness, noble politics, and that sort of thing, so that's where I aim my game. I think I do what I set out to, and I've made my PC, Dame Katherine, notable within that circle of influence.