A Few Questions

K.iriel

Hello, I'm new to both LARP and Alliance, and I have a few questions. I will be buying the rulebook, but as of right now am unable to do so, so please forgive me if this is covered in the book.
For a bit of background, I am currently planning a human PC character for use in the Catskill chapter. I will not be there this year because of travel and I would like to be as prepared as possible before I start.

First off, how do people normally chose names? Are there specific styles of names for different races or backgrounds, or is it a purely personal choice?

Secondly, does the clothing have to be European? I have amassed quite a lot of traditional Oriental clothing that would be nice-and convenient-to use, even if it's only as an undergarment.

Third, what are the restrictions on the use of other languages in the game? I am fluent in both Spanish and Mandarin Chinese and am planning to add several other languages. Could I, for example, write things down in Chinese characters so that (presumably) no one else can read them, or is that considered cheating?

And finally, what are the restrictions of bringing a camera to an event? I wouldn't want to disrupt the event by taking pictures, but photography is a large part of my life and I would love to take some pictures of the event in action. I would probably bring my small sports camera that can withstand all manner of abuse and isn't too obtrusive, and I would definitely not be snapping pictures at night or during any big scenes.

Thank you and hello!

You can check out the Catskills website here alliancecrossroads.com , they do have a players guide which goes indepth about the races as well for $5, its a .pdf. Also you might want to post to their part of the site here.

a: personal choice on names.
b: seen plenty of oriental styled garbs.
c: while you can use other languages, everybody knows Basic (English) in some form or amount.