Advice for a total noob

elliotbay

Knight
Marshal
I started thinking about LARP recently, with no apparent stimulus (I think I dreamt about it, but then what stimulated that?), and now I'm really interested in trying it out. You guys were one of the first groups I saw on Wikipedia (benefit of being near the beginning of the alphabet, I suppose). I checked out your website, and now I'm even more interested. There are several problems, though, and you guys seem like a nice bunch of folks, so I'm hoping I could get some advice on how to proceed.

I haven't done any kind of LARP or ARG in the past, nor a tabletop RPG, though I have read a few rulebooks, and made a couple of characters for one we were going to play this summer, but that never came to fruition. I've played several video game RPGs, but I'm sure the experience is much different. I also haven't done any kind of Renaissance Faire, or anything of the sort. I don't believe I have any acceptable clothing to be running around wearing in-game, with the possible exception of a green and yellow cloak (I have a green and black one, too, but that's made out of nicer material, and I'd be less comfortable about running through the woods in it).

I am currently based in Eugene, OR, without access to a car, which means I'll have to rely on public transportation, and/or the kindness of somebody from the Oregon chapter, or find a time when I can drag my girlfriend along, too, which brings me to my next hurdle...

As a University student in the marching band, I probably won't have a weekend free at least until the term is over, and when I do, my girlfriend likely won't, as she's in a couple different bands that often perform on weekends.

Also, as a University student who is graduating in the spring, and who doesn't know where in the US he'll be after that, my relationship with at least the Oregon chapter will last less than a year.

Given the above: