Augustus The One More

jwconvery

Spellsword
"Turns out that Lycergis is just an anagram for Augustus! We are ruled by the Lich King himself even after all that hubub about giving up the crown and retaking the capital city from undead."

Lycergis gave up a crown? Who's Augustus? Is that the creature in the mountains collecting the undead? This person doesn't know what anagram means. I'm new in these lands, is this a concern?

-Gideon

Gideon, Augustus was the previous king, Lycergis have the crown as a peace offering and show of good faith to the kingdom of alacard and the reason most people call the capital city "the old capital" is because the capital was overrun by undead until fairly recently when we managed to get someone to the center of the city where I think they made a city sized haven of the living. However I am not positive what they did to clear the undead, I was just there to help them get to the center.
Let me know if you need anything else clarified, but this just seems like more fearful rumormongering among the people.

Ardos Irani
Selunari Defender

Why would a king give up his crown to another nation? "As a show of good faith, here's the symbol of my rule. I hope people recognize me when I go out in public." Also, good faith in what? What did Lycergis receive from them? Peace treaty? Were they at war? What was so important that giving up the crown was needed? Was the physical crown a threat to this other nation in some way? Was it related to the dragon war? Seems like a strange decision, but I am not a king.

-Gideon

Gideon,

This is best suited for Mathis as he cares more about this and has been adventuring for much longer than I have, so he will know better than I.

As for the more recent, Lycergis gave up his crown (which to my knowledge is a powerful magic item/artifact) to the Kingdom of Alacar during the fight against Bleak as a show of good will between the two nations.