Creating a Character

ON1xB

I am a total newb... my first event was last weekend and I am HOOKED!!! I am interested in making a character.... I have already decided to be a Biata Templar... is there anything that I should know when I am writing my history, or anything I should keep in mind when deciding on whether I should be more fighter or more caster? I heard a damn good idea of earning all my weapon profs first so i can slaughter people while I am learning my spells.... any other advice?

I belive I can help here, as my primary is a Biata Templar. Some things to concider and ask yourself.
How comfortable are you with the spell system (both packet accuracy and incants).
Do you enjoy swinging pipe over casting? Casting over pipe? Equal?
Are you eager to get up with the "big" guys, in actuality or in precieved ability?

The thing about templar's (adepts and scouts as well) is that they are a much slower path to power than the "single" classes. Amaranthus (my primary) is 18th level now. I swing 6's have my evic, my repost, 2 slays, 2 parries and a small earth pyramid (44321). I also have 1h master and style master. Even if I were a bit more streemlined i wouldnt have that much more other things.
I have been playing Amar scince 2003. I love the character, and such, but its been a long road, to get him to the point were he is truly "effective".

Now, I am not trying to discurage you. You stated you are new so I wanted to give you a bit of info about the classes. The "cross" classes are great as you get higher in level, but they take a bunch longer to get that level of power. The "single" classes become much more powerful earlyer on, but they tend to cap off earlyer, tho you kept getting stronger, it tends to be "more of the same tricks"