Follow up to my poll: Level Gap

Daimyo Shi

Most people in my poll want Balance between new players and old player, with the vast minorty favouring new players. Now in my review of topics that didn't seem to be what most of the arguements about aspects of 2.0 seem to bear out but let's put that aside for another topic/day.

How do we balance 2.0 over the very wide gulf that exists in Alliance at this point? I am at a lost at how big the biggest level currently is in Alliance I am under the impression it is very large almost MMO Level cap number [IE between 50 and 100] it would seem to be the desire balance but how can we frame that around the changes of 2.0. is the problem with 2.0 overall that it favours one side over the other? Or is it something else?

Frankly, I don't think it's mechanically possible. The gap was a problem when I started playing back in 2004 at an APL 20+ Kzoo, and hasn't really changed in that time beyond the top end getting higher. It's why many new chapters run under level caps.

My ideal goal would be to find ways to help the people with massively high level characters wrap up those characters' stories and move on to a new PC, but that's difficult to do. People have a ton of time, money, and emotion invested in those characters and aren't really going to want to give them up. At the same time, the game can't continue to exist unless we can get new players and convert those newbies into regulars, because some older players are inevitably going to find other hobbies or just be too busy to invest themselves in the game any more. That's a lot less likely if those new players are stuck in a permanent situation of haves vs have nots.

The issue is less that there's a gap and more that there isn't a cap, IMO. However, the primary source of these power gaps is magic item accumulation. The MI reductions in .9 address that significantly, and should help with scaling.