Guilds

Ashiichan

Hello,

As one might assume, I am new to LARP, and just had my first event in Southern MN this weekend. I am a bit confused about spellbooks and Guilds/Clans, specifically what they are and what their purpose is in game. I was quite lost when they were mentioned in passing. Oh, I suppose I should mention that I am a gypsy earth healer w/up to 5th curcle magic.

-Ashley

Hi Ashley,

My name is Paul, I played Fern Woods (the guy with the hats and sideburns). I am sorry I am not placing your name and face together in my head.

You asked about Spellbooks and Guilds.

Spellbooks are what your healer would study from each day around 6pm (logistics time) to rememorize her spells. In order to prepare a spell, you need to have it inscribed in your book. If you don't have it in there, you cant memorize that spell. As you progress past 5th level spells to 6th, 7th, and above you'll find you need to find someone to not only teach you how to cast the spell level but also find ways (in game of course) to add those spells to your book or replace your spellbook with one that has the spells you need.

Guilds- Thats more of an IG thing so you should ask In Game. I am fairly certain if you ask about it IG you'll get an answer.

Hope that helps and that we get to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Paul

Paul,

Thanks for the help! My Character's name was Markov; she was one of the Gypsies, wearing blue, purple and gold, if that helps. I was pretty confused about how spellbooks differed from which spells we were able to choose during logistics time. I am assuming then, that unless I have spell in my spellbook, I will be unable to use that spell until I copy or buy a new spellbook from a different player?

-Ashley

I disagree about guilds being an in game thing only. There are two major guilds that are mentioned in the rulebook. Guilds other than those may be local flavor and should be asked about in game.