Kukris?

Sheakhan

Adept
Just curious on the weapon rules for kukris? Are the allowed? Do they require special construction? Is it a case by case thing?

So, I am not experienced enough with kitespar/carbon graphite to consider whether or not there is a way to curve the core safely.

So I can't direct you towards a way to construct a kukri.

That being said, I found this.

https://zombiesplayground.com/p-1297-ra ... kukri.aspx

I saw nothing inherently dangerous in the description. Mind you, a weapon needs to be cleared as safe at event, and some latex weapons use extremely stiff foam, like Calimacil, and won't clear.

Being a kukri-style isn't what will disqualify a weapon. Being outside the guidelines in the rulebook for construction, or just being ruled a weapon that will hurt someone by striking them with it, that's what will disqualify a weapon.

You can safely curve PVC, or use joints if they don't affect the weapon's safety, that is.

Draven said:
Wow, only 18" long. That's not even long enough to be considered a small weapon (minimum is 20").

I recommend against kukris even if you do find a way to make some longer than 20". While they are cool looking they are too small to be practical in Alliance as a primary weapon where people and creatures will be using weapons that are 36" to 48" for one-handed weapons and up to 72" two-handed weapons.

But, as a secondary weapon or a backup weapon for a scholar-type character it could be cool as long as it meets the minimum standards.

Evan is right, though, that what makes a weapon "not allowed" is (a) not meeting the specs for it's category (see the rulebook page 81), (b) not being "safe". The fact it is curved may be taken into account, but isn't a disqualifying feature.

P.S. All weapons must be checked by a Rules Marshal every game to ensure that the weapons we are using are safe.