New Command rules question

Polare

Pioneer
A question for the marshals about the new rules.

Joe has a Shun memorized. He is hit by a Shun from an evil monster. May Joe Shun himself to destroy the monster's shun? What are the effects of this?
 
Polare Lissenstine said:
A question for the marshals about the new rules.

Joe has a Shun memorized. He is hit by a Shun from an evil monster. May Joe Shun himself to destroy the monster's shun? What are the effects of this?
You have always been able to shun yourself but it really didn't do anything.... however that is now a good question since you can use it to rid yourself of commands. I think we're going to see some good old rules "breaking in" before the new rules actually work.

The new command rules really junk awaken and make it almost useless except for a few occassions.

As a side question- They've said that lesser commands override the previous lesser command, but what if you get hit by a greater command and you already have a lesser command on you? I know the actual greater command can override the lesser command, but does it get rid of it all together?

~B
 
1) The original command effect is only overridden if a new command takes affect. Since you cannot be affected by your own Shun, this does not work.

2) The Command and Greater Command effect groups are separate. Greater command effects take precidence over Command effects if there is a conflict, but they will not "overwrite" them.

-Dan
 
Wait a minute, this is about to set a bad presidence.

In refference to number 1, should the person casting his own Shun on himself call "No Effect"? Furthermore, what should happen when my own Shun spell is Reflected back at me, the same?
 
Kerjal Obcidian said:
Wait a minute, this is about to set a bad presidence.

In refference to number 1, should the person casting his own Shun on himself call "No Effect"? Furthermore, what should happen when my own Shun spell is Reflected back at me, the same?
That is why I thought people could Shun themselves. It was a great debate on Reflect back in the 1st edition of Alliance. Hmmm.....

There aren't any spells in NERO that you should call "no effect" to. Even if hit by a Ward or light spell... you just take it and nothing happens. I think the new command rule is going to mess with some other situations too.

~B
 
Actually, that's not entirely correct, Barry - but I will let Dan address that.

Fact is, you cannot get ten feet from yourself; thus, you cannot shun yourself. Since calling "taken" means that you are taking the effects of the spell, it is innapropriate to call as such. The correct call to a shun on yourself *would* be no effect... not to mention that trying to get out of a shun by shunning yourself (or any other command) is kind of a violation of the spirit of the rule, IMO.
 
"Taken" indicates that the spell is taking effect, when in this case it is not. Calling taken when you are not affected by a spell is misleading and leads to holds being called when they should not be necessary.

Some situations where a PC would call "no effect" to a spell (a Spell Shield or Reflect Magic will still be set off) are as follows. This list is by no means complete; there may be other situations where a PC may call "no effect" to a spell. These are only the most common.

Enflame, Shatter, Destroy, or Disarm when an invalid item is called.

Enflame or Disarm when no item is in hand.

Shatter or Destroy when used on an indestructible item.

Control, Help, Turn, Harm, or Destroy Undead, if you are not undead.

Create Undead if you are not dead.

Any spell except Life or Create Undead if you are dead.

Any spell except Dispel Magic if in a Prison.

Light, Circle of Power, Wall of Force, Wizard Lock, Lesser Investment, or Ward, as they cannot target a person.

Life, if you are not dead.

Solidify, if you are not gasseous.

Earth Storm, if you are alive.

Chaos Storm, if you are undead.

Shun or Repel, if you become your own target.


In order for one command to override another, the new command must take affect.
You cannot be the target of your own shun, so you would call no effect to your own Shun.
Reflect Magic does not change the originating caster, so you would call no effect to a reflected Shun.

-Dan
 
Dang, won't let me edit that previous post. So, uh... here's my edit.


EDIT: That said, I think Dan is making a lot of sense here. I just worry about situations where character RP flies in the face of the spirit of the rules but not the letter. It has been demonstrated (see Charm -> Dominate and the new Berserk rules) that this causes problems in the past.
 
Back
Top