New player

The Owl

Hi everyone!

I'm a student and writer in the Chicago area, and I'm really interested in Alliance! I've played tabletop roleplaying games for years, but I'm totally new to LARP. I've got a few questions about the game here in Chicago...hopefully I'm not too ignorant. :)

How many players should I expect at a typical event? Is there any dominant age group, or is there a mix of older and younger players? Will I have to sign up especially early to guarantee a spot?

How "in character" should I expect people to be? Based on the rulebook, it seems like people are expected to stay in character pretty much all the time, which I love, but some videos I found online (from Alliance Calgary, if I remember right) showed players talking out of character during battles and even breaking the rule against real-life profanity. Please be honest! I'm not picky, I just want to know what I'm getting into.

What rules should I use to build my starting character? Some posts on this forum indicated an errata to the website's rulebook, claiming I start out with 25 Build Points as opposed to 15 (or something like that). I've also heard about the 2nd edition rules coming out...where can I find these, and when should I expect to need them? Sorry, I'm totally lost with this part of the rules.

I'll follow up with more questions if I have them. Thanks in advance for your understanding. :)

Oh, and the fun stuff: I'm planning on playing an idealistic Dryad (or Sylvanborn? I read something about a name change) Templar, sworn to heal the sick and injured without asking reward. He's been awakened only recently, so he has little experience with practical concepts like "money," but he's curious and friendly, if a little naïve.

Okay, that's all. I'm really excited! Hopefully I'll be joining you in April!