Shield Making

We have quite a few guides out there for boffers.
My son wants me to build a kite shield for him and I see that some of our MC shields are showing some bad wear in the handles.
What are good materials the hold up well over years of use and are light weight?
Handle designs that are preferred?

The best thing I have found for shields is 3/8" corrugated plastic with a 1" wide strip of blue camp pad taped around the outside and then a layer of blue camp pad glued & taped down on the front.

For a handle I've always used just a basic garage door handle (make sure you get the one with two screw holes in each side), though I remember a few years ago seeing a plastic handle (for a kid's jungle gym I think) that might work for the one for your son.

I originally used zip ties to hold the door handle on to the coroplast, but I had some issues with them snapping, so what I've been doing for the last 6 or 7 years is gluing the handle down with gorilla glue and then using a zip tie to secure it while it dries.

I've have the same shield for going on 8 years, it weighs about 3 lbs (with the heavy duty denim shield cover) and other than the zip tie fiasco, have had zero issue with it. My shield sees very heavy use and It has probably gone though 120-130 events.

Pretty much everything tieran just said, except I used two layers of thinner plastic and alternated the direction of their "grain" so it wouldn't easily bend in either direction. I also made a teardrop, center-grip, punch shield from the curved punch shield design off the Belegarth wiki.

-Luke

TAP Plastics has 4'x8' sheets and will cut them down to whatever size you want (with a small per-cut fee). I found that 2'x4' sheets cut into coffin shapes get you up to max shield size. You can have them cut it in half (4'x4') and then cut each of those in half in "opposite" directions in order to get the alternating grains.

-Luke

Attachments

• sheetcuts.jpg
    sheetcuts.jpg
    10.4 KB · Views: 677