Shields vs. Staffs for Blocking

Celebolwa said:
by the way if a shield is shattered and there are scrolls attached, they are destroyed I believe as well, unless something has changed...

Just saying I love to shatter shields when attack by people with them. As an NPC that is.

This was changed in the LAST edition as well (but I believe that was the first time it changed since people still kept thinking it hadn't...)

nonetheless. :)

Wraith said:
It will really heavily depend on your size, too. Being 6'5" and pretty broad-shouldered, an Alliance standard shield is pretty much useless to me as a blocking device unless I build a center-grip one that can move a lot. A spear (or staff, in this case) is much more effective as it gives me an actual chance to block shots to my legs as opposed to having to always be dodging.

Plus, shields are wonderful bullseyes for casters. :D

Yeah... I see what you mean. I'm 6'3", and although I'm not experienced fighting with a shield, I think that my legs would be a huge target for everyone, especially with a 2 hander.
Maxon, I'd love to see those build models, but only if you have them handy... don't put yourself out. Also, I was advised to do a min length staff... is that because I'd have better leverage on it to block with?
Also, given my height, I was thinking of making it longer than that, and maybe even max length and then using the ground all the time to jam it into when someone swings, basically making a pole that they hit so that leverage really isn't an issue... Just some musings, don't know if that would actually work, and the detriments of having a six foot stick on my back might outweigh the benefits. It would be kind of unwieldy sometimes.