What does it mean to "block" a weapon attack?

Parzivel

Adept
I am trying to figure out if a weapon hit is immediately invalidated by touching an interposed weapon. I.e. if Raganzi swings his sword and Kendrick puts his sword up, catching a little of the hit but feeling a blow that would normally be considered a "good touch" in spite of having gotten weapon-to-weapon contact... should Raganzi's blow be taken or not taken? I found the part of the rules that say "Weapon attacks which do not include the Strike keyword and are blocked or deflected with a weapon or shield will not damage the defender, nor will any swing that has enough force to overpower a block and still make contact with the target."but I just have no real understanding of what that is intended to mean. If it is a normal strength attack (as opposed to an overpowering one), and it hits a valid target and a weapon... is the attack nullified?

As a rules Marshall, I would have said that a shot that hits a valid target with a normal amount of force is not "blocked" even if it hits a weapon too, but a different Marshall in my chapter felt like if it touches a weapon it is only valid if it is a Strike, regardless of whether the attack also hits a valid target with a valid amount of force.
 
Back
Top