New Player (Seattle)

mnpankow

Hi My name is Megan and I am new to larping in general. Does anyone have any tips for a new player? Oh and, are their healers in this world. Because if everyone automatically regenerates, I don't see how they would be useful.

Greetings from way up in Canada!

A few general tips for Alliance:

1) The more you can get into the headspace of the game and your character, the more fun you're going to have; costuming and armor can go a long way to help with that, and you can find some great deals on simple costuming at thrift stores if you don't have the skill to create your own from scratch. If you've got some spare cash, you might also commission a fellow LARPer to make you a few costuming pieces, or order something online.

2) Your first few weapons should probably be boffers (there are some simple instructions for making them in the rulebook) if you plan to make them yourself and haven't done so before, as their construction tends to be more forgiving of mistakes; people from your chapter can probably provide tips and assistance if you ask, and there's lots of stuff on weapon crafting here on the forums, too.

3) Metal armor is likely to be expensive to put together all at once for your first time, but like costuming you can find some suitable items at thrift stores to make into cheap leather armor; a decently thick leather jacket with some modifications to make it look period-appropriate can be worth several points of armor on its own, plus maybe a couple extra bonus for costuming. Unless you're dead-set on showing up to your first event decked out in plate mail and can afford to do so, in which case more power to you. :)