Charging for rulebooks

I have only recently attended my fourth Alliance event so I am still a newbie and I, too, thought it was strange that I had to pay for the electronic version of the rulebook. Granted six smackaroos wasn't really a problem for me but I can understand why people wouldn't want to drop that money right out of the gate for what they worry might essentially become worthless after a quick skim and not finding it to their liking.

I work as a software engineer in the mobile application development field and I see people not wanting to drop two or three dollars for applications that offer great functionality, entertainment or productivity improvements on the smartphone that they carry with them everywhere and use every single day. That's why the free-to-try applications and free-to-play games have become so popular; people get to try them out before they throw down any money on them at all.

If hosting really is a problem, I have a personal web server with plenty of bandwidth available and I would be willing to host it for free.

It sounds like a lot of people want the opportunity to look at the rulebook to see if the system is the "right" system for them, before they commit to spending money on it, even $6. It sounds like if players have committed to actually being players, they have little issue with spending the $6 for a digital rulebook or $20 for the print version (which, I feel the pricing is certainly reasonable for what one gets).

So, the primary issue is allowing potential players the opportunity to view the rules, without them first having to commit money. If they are shopping through a half-dozen LARPs, and we are the only one charging for the rulebook, we may well be overlooked due to the barrier (which may seem small to us, but for someone who doesn't know about us as an organization, has never attended an event, and doesn't know anyone who plays, it may well be the little push to make them consider another game).