Copy Formal Catalyst Requirement

Discussion in 'Marshal Questions' started by Ragnarok, Mar 14, 2019.

  1. Ragnarok

    Ragnarok Adept

    Can I get some clarification on the following ritual text? From the Copy Formal Scroll...

    "If the scroll being copied possesses a catalyst, this ritual will require a catalyst. The catalyst for Copy Formal Scroll is substituted for one of the reagents, chosen by the ritual caster."

    If the scroll being copied possesses an optional catalyst (like some of the scrolls soon to be added), does the Copy Formal Scroll require a catalyst? Or does the optional status of the catalyst in the scroll being copied negate the need for a catalyst in the Copy Formal Scroll?

    Thanks!

    -Sid
     
  2. Cedric

    Cedric Rogue Marshal

    I believe this is no different than present. We already have some formal scrolls with optional catalyst (construct and destroy magic). The catalyst for Copy Formal Scroll would be needed to copy these scrolls.
     
    Draven likes this.
  3. tieran

    tieran Duke Gettysburg Staff Marshal

    I would second that.
     
    Draven likes this.
  4. Polare

    Polare Count Alliance Rules Moderator Seattle Staff

    That is correct. If a scroll even just *supports* a Catalyst, Copy Formal needs its Catalyst to copy that scroll.

    -Bryan Gregory
    ARC
     
    MaxIrons, Durnic and Ragnarok like this.

Share This Page