Resolved Disarm <handheld item>

Discussion in 'ARC questions' started by Draven, Dec 7, 2017 at 11:07 AM.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Draven

    Draven Baron Seattle Staff Marshal

    Hello ARC!

    When using Disarm <handheld item>, the ARB appears to provide examples of handheld items. However, sometimes, people select odd words, as their only real intention is to knock out Dumb Defenses. For example,

    "I summon a force to disarm your Entanglement!"

    In the event someone uses some weird word that isn't clearly a handheld item, is this a flubbed incantation (thus resulting in no impact to Dumb Defenses), or would this be treated as a legal spell (even if the target itself is invalid) and burn appropriate dumb defenses?

    Thank you!
     
  2. Polare

    Polare Count Alliance Rules Moderator Seattle Staff

    The intent of ALL Spell or Magic Qualifier attacks is that merely being hit by them should break a spell defense, whether or not the specifics of the effect apply to the target (Ward against a non-structure, Turn Undead against a non-Undead, etc.). A player cannot claim an incant was flubbed just because the specific target of a spell does not apply to them; e.g. using a Bind spell against a Snake is not a flub even though they may not have arms, nor is Shatter <Body> against a non-Construct even though a normal character's Body is not a shatterable item.

    A character's Dumb defenses will go off when hit by an appropriate Qualifier/Effect, whether or not the Effect is targeted at something applicable to you.

    -Bryan Gregory
    ARC
     
    MaxIrons, Draven and Inaryn like this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page