"Educated" and what it means

Feldor

Adept
(Forking from the Alliance 2.0 Rulebook: Beta 2 thread because its not really about the rulebook.)

While that's the mechanical benefit of the skill, personally I think that this comment still makes role-play sense. It would be extremely odd to talk to someone and say "I'm an expert Calligrapher!" which they then follow up with "... but I'm not educated."

I think I was interpreting Educated differently than you. Much of what we'd consider Educated in current times falls under Craftsman. Educated is sort of the working tradesperson's skill -- its about identifying the tools and being taught what they are used for. Its a basis that lets you buy skills that let you know more or start doing things (like herbal lore, healing arts, read magic). Its more like what you get taught working your first job, and less like formal education. Educated equivalent for me is knowing what household tools are useful for what, how to connect & drive a truck with trailer, and who to ask to get appropriate remedies for various conditions. (My 1 rank of craftsman-farmer means I know how to hook up & use a tractor with a PTO and grow some of those remedies.)

Its about knowing how to interact with the physical things. To get in to any of the magics or serious crafting, you need the skill that comes after educated as a prereq. I actually think a better example for 'expert Calligrapher' is 'Read Magic'. Or requiring 'Blacksmith' to take craftsman-farrier (because its absolutely a required skill to be a rural farrier); similarly several of the other craftsman examples would really like you to have 'merchant'. 'Healing Arts' for 'vetenarian' would also be a better example.