[.11] Escape Act and Spell stores.

Tantarus

Squire
Escape Act (General, Item [Any], Daily) - The character may use a charge of this ritual and a use of the Evade or Dodge skill to touchcast a "Spell Release" effect on themselves once per Logistics period per charge.

Simple question, Can I put this Release into a spellstore?
 

Ken

Artisan
Alliance Logistics
This ritual specifically lets you touch cast Release on yourself. Spell Store requires that you touch cast the spell on the item. Since the Escape Act version specifies a very specific target (only you), that seems to rule it out.
 

tieran

Duke
Gettysburg Staff
Marshal
Spell store doesn’t list body as an available target.
 

Tantarus

Squire
This ritual will create a rechargeable Battle Magic spell slot in an item or on a person, if that person has a spirit. If Spell Store is cast upon such a person the ritual remains on the body. The Spell Store will always be on that body part containing the spirit if parts of the body are separated. When the body is reformed through resurrection, the Spell Store will vanish.
 

Ken

Artisan
Alliance Logistics
The version in the playtest lacks that language and specifies "Item". There is one stray mention of "item or person" but that looks to be an oversight considering everything else removed.
 

Draven

Count
Seattle Staff
Marshal
So.

Storm spells are self-only as well. However, an Owner reportedly stated that they can be stored as long as the Spell Store was in the caster’s possession.

This would set the precedence that “self” is mechanically defined as “self and possessions on self.”

As a result, if Storms can be spellstored, this Release would be storeable, also.
 

Polare

Count
Alliance Rules
Moderator
Seattle Staff
As with Eternal Resolution, we will amend this Ritual to be "Elemental" qualifier:

Escape Act (General, Item [Any], Daily) - The character may use a charge of this ritual and a use of the Evade or Dodge skill to touchcast an "Elemental Release" effect on themselves once per Logistics period per charge.
-Bryan Gregory
ARC
 
This might sound ridiculous but as I understand it if you are hit with a Bind or Confine you are not able to use any game abilities including touchcasting. Would this be the only way to touchcast a release on yourself while restrained in such a way?
 

Ken

Artisan
Alliance Logistics
This might sound ridiculous but as I understand it if you are hit with a Bind or Confine you are not able to use any game abilities including touchcasting. Would this be the only way to touchcast a release on yourself while restrained in such a way?
Bind/Confine don't prevent Game Abilities in general, just those that require the use of arms. Activating a magic item doesn't generally require those. However, touch casting does specifically require the use of arms, and the 1.3 ARB calls out Bind, Confine, or even having your hands tied as preventing it.

So it basically sounds like the only things this ritual can possibly get you out of are Slow, Pin, Repel, Paste of Stickiness, or some sort of physical restraint where they forgot to tie both of your hands... though it's not entirely clear if Release still works on things outside of the Binding group, so the paste and physical restraints might be out.
 

Ken

Artisan
Alliance Logistics
I suspect the intent is you can use it while bound.
Agree, but it probably needs some special wording to allow it. Unless 2.0 changes touch casting and the packet didn't mention it.
 

MaxIrons

Squire
Oregon Staff
Marshal
That's a pretty good catch!
 

Polare

Count
Alliance Rules
Moderator
Seattle Staff
The intent is definitely that this can be used while physically bound. We will review and find the best way to tweak the wording, but please proceed with the assumption that it works.

-Bryan Gregory
ARC
 

mythic

Knight
Owner
Calgary Staff
The intent is definitely that this can be used while physically bound. We will review and find the best way to tweak the wording, but please proceed with the assumption that it works.

-Bryan Gregory
ARC
Now it just has to work when under a Bind or Confine and it will be actually worth taking. ;)
 

MondayMcGee

Scholar
San Francisco Staff
"...take the effects of an Elemental Release as though touchcast and accepted."?
 

Polare

Count
Alliance Rules
Moderator
Seattle Staff
After discussion, here's what ARC has come up with to best fit the intent without running into activation issues:

"
Escape Act (General, Item [Any], Daily) - The character may use a charge of this ritual and a use of the Evade or Dodge skill to be affected as if they had successfully imbibed a Release potion. This may be used once per Logistics period per charge.

"

-Bryan Gregory
ARC
 
Top