Greetings from a no0b in NH

Dangles

Hello, everyone! The name is Dangles. I am from Southern NH, an avid gamer and airsofter and I am raring to get into LARP. After much research, I found Alliance and was quite pleased to see that this is a very active organization and that I am no more than 2 hours away from where you guys play. Being an avid airsofter of many years, I am no stranger to roleplaying as we employ very heavy roleplaying in our MILSIM operations. However, as the title states, I am a complete beginner in the world of LARP and I am hoping that by joining, I will not only find new friends in this new endeavor but likewise be able to receive the proper guidance so that I may start my LARP career on the right foot. So for this I turn to you fine folks.

I saw the events list for 2009, but I figured it might be better if I could maybe participate in some practice skirmishes and such before I show up at an actual event and make a complete fool of myself. Hence, if anyone out there has anything going on, please let me know. I know not the first thing about how to make a boffer, costumes or anything else. What I do know is how to play as a member of a team and have fun!

So if anyone out there, or any team/guild, is willing to take this noob under their wing, I would be more than grateful.

Thanks for your time and I look forward to meeting each and everyone of you.

~ Dangles

Often, the best way to learn the game is to NPC for a few events. This allows you to learn the rules and a range of different abilities as part of various monster groups, and you get to hang out with more experienced players who are the encounter leaders as you get a grasp for the game. The folks running NPC camp are also in charge of running the game as a whole, for the most part, and are pretty outstanding people -- most of them are always willing to answer questions and help you learn.