Just a question about the current armor system

Dom

Scout
One thing I don't understand, as I'm new to the game, is why the armor available to each player is at the players discretion (aside from the class limits) instead of a drop based system like weapons. If it were a drop based system once a player got a tag for let's say "leather bracers - worth 2 points of armor per arm" or a "master crafted leather bracers - worth 3 points of armor per arm" they would have to go and get a rep for that piece of armor (I.E. plain leather bracers for the 2 point armor and leather bracers with studs or some kind of tooling or anything that makes them more interesting for the 3 point armor) and then they would bring their rep to a logistics/weapon-master/armor-master guy/gal for approval, the same way that weapons are. The tag would then be attached to the piece of armor and it would be considered an officially approved part of the game. This way each piece of armor has it's set number of points and you simply add up all the points that you are wearing and there is your armor value at that time.

Unfortunately, that further complicates the system. Armor is evaluated as an overall number, not as a value "per slot" when you look at a tag. A 15 point suit can be a combination of all sorts of things. Having to bring every single armor tag and rep to logistics, piecewise would create a lot of chaos and hassle for logistics, marshals and players.

The game is always striving to be simpler in the most basic levels, such as armor and weapons. Weapons and armor are both "drop based" and production items, and they work the same way, a sword tag can go on a sword, and a 30pt armor tag goes with any 30 point rep. Plus, where do you draw the line, I mean how many 3 point gorget tags are going to just sit in people's treasuries for eternity?

At least that is my take :)