Laws of Gavaria

Not open for further replies.


Alliance Rules
Chicago Staff
Charter of Gavarian Law

The following is a summary of Gavarian law presented in a manner which is easy to understand for the general population of the lands. These laws apply in all lands in which Gavaria holds power, including all lands under administration of Gavarian nobility, and vessels which fly under her flag. These laws apply to (but are not limited to) the lineages of Biata, Dark Elves, Dryads, Dwarves, Elves, High Ogres, High Orcs, Hoblings, Humans, Oathsworn, Selunari, Stone Elves, Sylvanborn, and Wylderkin. Creatures not of the fourteen aforementioned lineages are not explicitly guaranteed any protection under Gavarian law.

The method by which a law is breached is irrelevant, whether by blade, spell, poison, or other methods unknown. Non sentient or mindless entities are considered a means by which a crime is committed, whether deliberate or through negligence. Crimes of the Kingdom are outlined below.


  • Assault: Causing injury to an unwilling citizen due to willful intent or negligence. This also includes damages to a citizen’s personal property or lands.
  • Aiding and Abetting: Assisting and/or encouraging the unlawful behavior of another.
  • Coercion: Persuading a citizen to perform actions by using force or threats.
  • Conspiracy: Plotting unlawful actions by any methods, either as an individual or group.
  • Contempt: Refusing to appropriately respect or comply with the orders of a lawful representative of the Kingdom, within reasonable limits of their station and request.
  • Illegal Possessions: Knowingly possessing, owning, using, selling, or attempting to sell any banned substances without reasonably attempting to abandon them. These include but are not necessarily limited to: Items or scrolls of a Necromantic nature, items capable of inflicting Amnesia effects, items capable of inflicting Enslavement effects, Cabrine Ore, Helix Centipedes (living or dead in any part, or any of their associated byproducts), and potentially other items outlawed on a local basis.
  • Impersonating a Noble: Claiming to be a noble of any station, whether Margrave, Knight, Baron, Count, Duke, or Royal family member, when you are not.
  • Kidnapping: Capturing, holding, or otherwise imprisoning a citizen against their will.
  • Libel and Slander: The defamation of a notable citizen or organization's reputation by the spreading of false information either through written (Libel) or spoken (Slander) word.
  • Murder: Causing the intentional resurrection or permanent death of a citizen by any method.
  • Manslaughter: Causing the unintentional resurrection or permanent death of a citizen by any method.
  • Necromancy: Unsanctioned use of Necromantic magics, including the casting of and/or use of items created by means of Necromancy. This includes the creation and/or control of Undead beings of any kind.
  • Slavery: Owning, buying, or selling a citizen as property. This includes the use of any Enslavement effect(s).
  • Theft: The taking of a citizen’s personal property against their will.
  • Treason: Any crime or action made against the interest of the Kingdom and its Royalty, either knowingly or unknowingly. This includes but is not limited to:
    • Colluding with or assisting agents or citizens of any nation or territory currently at war with the Kingdom.
    • Bringing harm to the Royal family, directly or indirectly.
    • Harmful action taken against an allied territory or its ruler(s) that would jeopardize the peace between the Kingdom and the foreign entity.

Perpetrators of these crimes are subject to punishment as appropriate for the severity of the offense as determined by the Nobility of Gavaria or their lawful representatives. Punishments may include but are not limited to monetary fines, periods of labor, reparative/compensatory actions, periods of imprisonment, and death. Members of Nobility are granted the right of a Trial in order to present and/or refute the details of their case before judgment is meted by the appropriate authorities. Additional non-Noble ranks such as Magistrate, Knight, or other individuals of similar authority may be granted the right of a Trial as well on a case-by-case basis. Members of the Common populace may request a Trial, but are not guaranteed one and may be denied if deemed appropriate by the presiding authority. These laws apply to Gavaria as a whole, however there may be additional local laws instituted by a Duke or Count as appropriate within the lands of their purview.

The lands of Gavaria are divided into 5 Duchies, each of which is usually divided into between 2 and 5 Counties.The Duke or Duchess of a Duchy may also be the Count(ess) of a County within their Duchy but is not implicitly so. Dukes, Duchesses, Counts, and Countesses may also employ retainers in the form of Knights, Magistrates, Barons, Baronesses, Lords, Ladies, and Margraves, to officiate in their stead.

King/Queen: The supreme ruler and monarch of Gavaria. Their word is law. They have the authority to promote and demote nobility of any station as they see fit.

Royal Family: Members of the Royal Family are afforded titles as appropriate to their relation to the reigning Monarch. Royal Family members have no authority unless given a station by another noble, usually the King or Queen. Many members of the Royal Family at least hold the equivalent position of Lord in the city of Rosen.

Duke/Duchess: The ruler of a Duchy, appointed by the monarch. They wield supreme authority within their own Duchy.

Count/Countess: The ruler of a County, usually appointed by the ruler of the Duchy the County is located in. They are the highest authority within their County and answer directly to the ruler of their Duchy.

Baron/Baroness: These individuals usually look after a large piece of land within a County and are appointed by that Count or Countess as appropriate. A Baron or Baroness usually has extensive responsibilities to their Count or Countess.

Lord/Lady/Margrave: The appointed retainer of a Baron or Duke. A Margrave usually (but not always) looks after a piece of land within the territory of their appointing noble. These individuals hold approximately the same authority as a Knight or a Magistrate.

Knight: The appointed military authority of a Baron or any higher noble and acts at their behest within the lands of that noble. These individuals hold approximately the same authority as a Margrave or Magistrate.

Magistrate: The appointed legal authority of a Baron or any higher noble and acts at their behest within the lands of that noble. These individuals hold approximately the same authority as a Margrave or Knight.
Not open for further replies.