Lil help?

Nephster

Hullo! I am a newbie to this idea of LARP, and it sounds like loads of fun. I always told myself this was exactly the sort of thing I would never do, but I started reading Geebas on Parade and it awoke a powerful need that I was not previously aware of. I intend to make it out to an event ASAP but I have a few questions.

I read that there are two rule books needed to play. The core alliance rulebook (which I have, and will order more to give other interested friends and to replace my own which is near unreadable on account of the drool) and the chapter-specific rulebook, which I have no idea how to order. Where can I find it? Do I just need to show up to an event and purchase it there?

My friends and I plan on NPCing the first time we show up. But how does that work? Should we call ahead or pre-register to do that? If by some miracle I can get my whole gaming group to come with me (8 people, including myself) will we all be able to play? I read somewhere that there are never too many NPC's, which I'm sure is true, but is there ever not enough floor space for bodies? I don't want to bring unexpected mouths and look like a jerk.

Thank you!

welcome to the wonderful world of larping! alliance oregon has an event this very weekend (oct 9-11) if y'all can make it, but if that's a bit too short notice, i think alliance seattle has one coming up in november? someone from seattle want to confirm/deny that? the event this weekend is at a site called Brookes Memorial State Park; you can google it for whatever directions best suit you. it's free to npc and npc food is also free, so it's a fairly cheap way to test the game out. there will also be a decent number of first-eventer's at this game, so you'd be in good company.