make up help?

There are a few different types of make-up you can use. The two I think most people use for larping are cream make-up and cake make-up. I'm a big fan of cake make-up, personally - most cream stuff I've used tends to flake off after a while. Look for either Mehron or Ben Nye. It also helps a lot if you use barrier spray - it adds a layer between your face and the make-up, making it easier to remove later, and it can also serve as a sealing layer after you're done applying the make-up. You probably won't see it at most costume shops, but some Hot Topic stores (for whatever reason) carry Mehron barrier spray.

now I personally am not good at finding this kind of stuff (I am a man and my wife doesn't wear much make up cuz she doesn't need it :p) would the cream make up or cake make up be at a place like walmart or should I look somewhere else?

I've never seen decent costume makeup anywhere other than a costume shop, but I'm not an expert. You have a very, very narrow window of opportunity here - while the Halloween stores are still open, go check out their make-up sections! Keep in mind most of the stuff there is meant for a couple hours one night out of the year and go with one of the brands I mentioned before. If you can't find anything in person, you can always order it online.

Ben Nye and Mehron make-up -- which are the stuff most of our games here use, whether it's PC or NPC -- is pretty much what you want to stick with, yes. It's not make-up like you might think of a person wearing every day, but theater-grade, durable stuff.

Some larger halloween stores will likely carry a small collection of either brand right now; you can ask them for it, and they should know what you're talking about. If you have any theater/costume stores in your area, that's your safest bet for obtaining things locally.

What's easiest, however, is purchasing either online:

http://www.mehron.com/
http://www.bennye.com/