Make-up

Pyro727

Scholar
Greetings again all. I shop online lot so I'm not scare of the online shopping exp. I'm looking for places to get elf ears, horns, face paint, etc. Oh and what is some differences in "types" of make-up? I'm also looking for some techniques in putting on said make-up. I'm NEW to larp in general so any help would be great.

There's another post right around here about horns and ears, so I'll address the makeup thing.

There are a number of different types. Depending on what you're using it for some kinds are better suited than others. With ANY type of makeup, test it on yourself before coming to game to make sure you're not allergic. It's also a good idea to practice putting it on to see how much time you really need to do a good job of it.

If you are going for a race that requires full face makeup (sarr, dark elf, stone elf, orc, ogre, scavenger), your best bet is either pancake or liquid makeup. In either case I personally recommend Mehron brand. (http://www.mehron.com) Mehron makes two styles of pancake that our players commonly use: Starblend and Paradise. Paradise washes off very easily, so if you are doing a lot of makeup changes (like NPCing) it is probably your best bet. It also works well as a PC - provided you do not sweat a lot. Since it washes off with just water, sweat will remove it too. All you need for either of these are a damp makeup sponge and the cake. You can use a paintbrush for details. This is what I use for my orc.

Liquid makeup is another option. Mehron makes liquid, and I know there's at least one other company out there that does a good job of the liquid but I can't recall the name right now. You can apply it with a sponge, or invest in an airbrush, which will give you a good, even coat of makeup quickly.