Misc. Rules, Layon Clarifications

llywelyn

Apprentice
We had some more questions come up in the event feedback and in the IBGAs that have been sent in so far.

Time to quaff/feed a potion

This is not three counted because the entire action set can be performed (ARB 1.2 pg 87). You have to go through the entire action set–which as with an elixir consists of "hold(ing) one in your hand, motion(ing) removing a cork or cap, and then mim(ing) drinking it" (ARB 1.2 pg 102). Basically, you must go through and be able to go through the various actions, but the time it takes is the time it takes.
Charging

Had a few questions around what specifically this entails. Charging is an extension of the body contact rule (ARB pg 8; ARB pg 93). The specific rule reads:

During combat, you must never come into physical contact with your opponent. If you are crowding your opponent so much that he or she must step back to avoid body contact with you, you are charging.
Basically: if you have to move to keep them from violating the body contact rule, that's charging.​

Earth blade

In terms of the effect of earth on undead, from ARB pg 97 (Carriers):

“Body,” “Earth,” and “Chaos” carrier attacks bypass all Armor Points (including Shield spells) and do damage only to the Body Points of the victim. (Other carrier attacks do not.) When struck by these specific carrier attacks, the damage indicated is subtracted directly from your Body Points with no damage to your armor or Shield spells.
It should be noted that "earth" and "stone" are distinct in this regard.​

Soft/Hard Layon

What a "soft" layon means is that there is some roleplay, possibly a few wandering monsters on the roads, but that we (as in the NPCs) aren't doing the larger encounters or waves. At 10:00:00 it is "game on." For example: At the last event we sent out a group of undead in a wave (with another group instructed to meet them 15 minutes after the hard layon). They had a clock that the encounter head watched so that the group stayed out of game and then went full-tilt as soon as the clock read 10:00.​
 
Hey David, to clarify on Earth Blade, it appears that according to the description above Earth Blade goes to body on mortals - is that accurate?
 
Hey David, to clarify on Earth Blade, it appears that according to the description above Earth Blade goes to body on mortals - is that accurate?

Yes, but it doesn't do anything to them.

From ARB 1.2 pg 97:

“Body,” “Earth,” and “Chaos” carrier at- tacks bypass all Armor Points (including Shield spells) and do damage only to the Body Points of the victim.​

This is the "yes" part. For the "no effect" part we turn to Earth Blade ARB 1.2 pg 116:

Since all players are not undead, they will not be affected by any creature calling “earth” damage. However, this spell will set off a Magic Armor even if the tar- get is immune to the spell’s effect.​

The way I'd read this is a player has 30 armor, 20 body, and a magic armor on and gets hit by "3 'earth'": Result is the magic armor is lost. They are hit with "3 'earth'" again, call "no effect." This is different from if they were immune to flame for some reason, where the second hit would bring them down to 27 armor, but once the armor was at 0 they would call "no effect" and would take no damage.
 
Back
Top