My LOVE/HATE Relationship with Shields and learning to fight

Shields...

They can look SO COOL. Heraldry and art and cool shapes. So visually stunning.

I LOVE teaching people how to Alliance fight. I am a teacher by trade, and I just dig helping people get better. I feel like I have taught some people pretty well, and overall have been able to teach people to fight more successfully.

And I steer ALL of them away from learning how to use a shield. Because I think starting to learn how to fight using a shield limits how much you actually learn about Alliance fighting. Pick up a shield and you can hold your own pretty quickly. But that same comfort can de-incentivize people from gaining more skill.

I think shields are AMAZINGLY EFFECTIVE. But I also think that they can be a crutch that can limit people in the long run.

What do you think?

Re: My LOVE/HATE Relationship with Shields and learning to f

I think learning to feel effective is more conducive to helping new players become good players than learning to BE effective.

I feel like it is more important for someone to enjoy what they are doing in our game and feel comfortable and excited and important, than it is for a person to become a beast in combat. We are blessed with a system, for all of its flaws and inconsistencies, that allows even the least physically adept person to "Be All They Can't Be" and really do wonderful things in a combat situation that if this were "real life" or even a less representational game like Belegarth or Dagohir or Amtgard or SCA, they would be unable to perform at even a not counterproductive level, let alone competitively.