Ritual Caster talking to people outside of the Circle

Beaky

Novice
I had been under the impression, that a Ritual Caster interacting with people (PCs, NPCs, etc.) outside of the Circle of Power they are casting in, causes the ritual to automatically backlash. But I can find no mention of this within the rulebook, or any ARC rulings that say as much (within recent history, I stopped looking when I hit 2019).

I had been told that talking to someone outside of the circle, as a ritual caster counts as "losing focus on the ritual" or "losing concentration on the ritual". But can find no reference to that being the case in the Rulebook.

The only thing that I could see potentially meaning this is the automatic backlash condition for the primary caster that says "Loses control of the Ritual Scroll or any of the components". Though I do not really see how talking to someone outside of the circle would trigger this.

Am I missing it written in the rulebook somewhere? Is this an old rule that hasn't existed for a while? Is this a rule that (if it isn't in the rulebook) will be re added? Was this ever a rule?
 
Solution
It appears it was excluded from 1.3, but from my interactions with "Loosing Sight/possession" in the 1.3 wording I would see Marshals call a backlash if Ritual Caster looked up from the scroll and engaged in conversation with someone outside of it. That was mostly interactions on the West Coast.

Per our current rulebook 2.1 I'm showing no mention of that clause.
It appears it was excluded from 1.3, but from my interactions with "Loosing Sight/possession" in the 1.3 wording I would see Marshals call a backlash if Ritual Caster looked up from the scroll and engaged in conversation with someone outside of it. That was mostly interactions on the West Coast.

Per our current rulebook 2.1 I'm showing no mention of that clause.
 
Last edited:
Upvote 0
Solution
Back
Top