Siege Weapons

Phabo

Author's Note: I wasn't sure where to start this conversation (here or rules)

So I'm relatively new to Alliance, but played other LARPs for about 6 years and I was recently thinking of making some siege weapons. My character thinks himself to be somewhat an engineer and wants to make something of it. Also up coming plot in the chapters I frequent make me want to make siege weapons as well.

Anyways moving along I have multiple plans for weapons that include ballistas, catapults, battering rams, etc.
but I wanted to know what others thought. I guess the rules part was if there are national rules for it or if its a chapter by chapter thing.

How I see it there are two paths:
  1. Make functioning weapons that shoot javelins or balls of foam
  2. Make Phys Reps that then have rules attached to them
I think it would add a fun layer to the game, especially if there is a legitimate use for them.

This kind of thing is amazingly awesome if done right. There are no national rules for siege engines, so your best bet is to contact your local plot team and work hand in hand with them.

A national rule that may apply: Boulders from the weapon rules.

If you're thinking about the castle event at SoMN in October, there's typically a battering ram that comes out at least once.

HQ recently had a ballista prop and had Alex K. (AKA Vox) throwing packets if I am not mistaken.

In HQ plot has used siege weapons a handful of times, always under the control of the NPCs. I think it is safe to say that, given the balance of the rules, PCs should never have unlimited access to siege weapons (though a one-shot, controlled encounter may work occasionally).