The Slayers: a call to arms

Discussion in 'Public Notices - Dragonreach' started by Seabass, Jan 9, 2019.

  1. Seabass

    Seabass Artisan South Michigan Staff


    The Slayers were founded over a decade ago and several members still exist maintaining the good fight against chaos. With the magical change that has come to these lands the whole of the undead have changed with them. There are more than there were once before, and the variety of their natures is much wider and far reaching. What we no longer understand about them is extremely dangerous to all.

    The Slayers are needed once again.

    Below are the first few pages of the Book of the Sun, the Slayer codex. It explains what it means to be a Slayer. In a few weeks I will travel to the Fate's Compass Tavern outside of Dragonreach to speak with anyone who is interested in adding their strength to the Slayers, and in turn the Slayer's strengths to their own.
    Be wise and be safe,
    Zane Al'Vera
    Order of the Emerald Flame
    Master Slayer

    The Slayers

    The first month of the 18th year since the destruction of Tyrra

    Slayers Concept Web.png
    Slayers are people unified in the defence of the living from the undead and minions of chaos. Slayers are loyal to a cause and how that cause binds each of us together. Anyone of any race, creed, loyalties, and oaths may join with the Slayers if their belief in the good fight against the undead and chaos is sincere.

    Slayers have three duties:

    1. To oppose the undead and minions of chaos.

    2. Empowering the world against the great foe by spreading knowledge of our enemy.

    3. To assist other Slayers in these endeavors whenever possible.
    We are the dawn, a shield against a world full of darkness, a weapon of light.

    Slayers can be of any skill level so long as they are willing to contribute to the fight by brawn or brains. Above all Slayers have the responsibility to spread the knowledge we obtain to any who will listen and learn on how best to defend and fight against the undead.


    No Slayer is expected to uproot their life, give up any loyalties, or violate any oath they have taken.

    Becoming a Slayer is something you add to yourself, not a replacement for anything. It represents a common belief that the living should be defended from the horrors of chaos. Slayers live their lives as they wish, but now are bonded to many allies in our common goal.

    No more, no less.

    Slayer Rank and Titles


    Knight - Warden - Precept

    Master Slayer

    There are 15 total accolades given for service rendered to the Slayers and the world. Each may be accomplished as a group or individually. Each Rank does not convey command over Slayers but rather honor and respect for a job well done. Ranks carry the responsibility to pass on everything you know, and support those who take up arms with you. The Slayers have a long tradition of ceaseless defence of the world. Slayers wear our achievements on our favor along with our accolade rank.


    Rank of Knight: Path of War (Silver)
    -Stand against a Horde
    -Permanently Destroy a Greater Vampire
    -Permanently Destroy a Liche
    -Permanently Destroy a Mummy
    -Permanently Destroy a Master-level Undead

    Rank of Warden: Path of Healing (Gold)
    -Rescue of a Slayer from a dire situation
    -Plan and execute a successful campaign to destroy a hive
    -Help a Slayer to achieve a Slayer rank.
    -Redeem a worthy undead to the living
    -Rid an area of powerful chaos taint upon nature

    Rank of Precept: Path of Knowledge (Blue)
    -Banish or Imprison an elemental prince-level “major” Chaos threat
    -Plan and execute the destruction of a major stronghold of the element of Chaos
    -Contribute a full page or equivalent to the Book of the Dead
    -Discover three hidden enemy strongholds.
    -Have your research directly result in 12 slayers achieve an accolade

    Coat of Arms & Favors

    The accolades earned by Slayers are represented individually from Slayer to Slayer. An accomplished task is represented by a symbol or favor of that path’s color attached to their colors. Any method can be utilized but must be consistent shapes/symbols. Once five accolades are earned in a specific path a rank symbol is placed on your colors:

    Precept, Warden, Knight.

    This symbol replaces all the colors of that path. The following examples are accolades being earned by a Slayer.

    The first: a Precept Slayer who has earned Three War, and Two Healing Accolades.

    The second: One War, Two Healing, Two Knowledge.

    Once Rank is earned the remaining ten colored accolades of the other paths (in the previous example War and Healing) are accumulated until the rank of Master is obtained.

    Bars Examples for Web.png
    Title Examples:

    Order of the Emerald Flame
    Knight of the Slayers

    Undead Slayer
    Warden of the Slayers
    Precept of the Slayers
    Master Slayer

    Achieving a rank in the Slayers on your path is granted by a ranked member of the path you have earned your accolades in. By example: Precept Slayers may grant the same rank to others if they are satisfied by the evidence presented of the newer Slayer’s achievements. The Slayer who grants the title affixes their name in testament and honor to the name of the newly raised Slayer and it is entered in the Book of the Sun, our codex and history.

    Master Slayers may grant any accolade, and are the only ones who may grant the title of Master Slayer.

    Slayer Ranks

    Warden Precept Knight

    Slayer Achievements

    Accolades are not a matter of technical or semantic argument. Either you accomplished what was required of the task or you did not. If you have to ask then it is likely your work is unfinished.

    Ranked slayers may ask for proof, witnesses, and so on before granting the accolade as completed. Each accolade earned must be documented in story and submitted to the Slayers to be entered in the Book of the Sun. These entries are important and are a requirement for elevation to any rank.

    Master Slayers

    One Slayer of Master rank is the Regional Master Slayer. Regions are defined simply as an area of influence. An example would be the Kingdom of Dragonreach. The Regional Master is responsible for information coordination and documentation to their local books of the Dead and Sun for that area.

    Becoming a Slayer

    At the time of this writing Zane Al’Vera is the only standing Master Slayer. However he is not a regional commander. Instead he will be acting as a guide who will also be earning accolades alongside all other new Slayers.

    If you are interested seek out Zane or another Slayer to inquire about membership. Any Slayer of any rank may induct another one into our rosters. Slayers sponsor new Slayers with their name in honor along side the new recruit in the book of the Sun. They are responsible for their education into becoming a proper Slayer.

    The Slayer coat of arms belt favor should be worn on the left side of the body either facing out or to the side, never behind you.

    Be safe, be wise, be strong.
    We are the Dawn

    Slayers Concept Web.png

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 9, 2019

Share This Page