Thinking of coming out

Sahale

So i used to go to Nero Empire with a few of you and i'm thinking of coming out to an event. anything different i should know ahead of time? How much build does a new character have? Will play a biata again, is there a lot of difference in alliance? looking forward to seeing all of you :D

The rulebook is TOTALLY free: http://nerohq.com/books.php

15 Build is the base for new PCs.

I'm a newb with Nero rules/style vs Alliance rules/style, but give it a few, someone will fly in and talk about the differences as we have many players who play/played in Nero and Nero Empire.

Welcome!

-Porch

Rules differences between NERO and Alliance LARPs:
  • National biata packet can be found here to see some of the differences. If you pay the $10 trial membership fee or the $30 full membership fee, you can get a copy of the Player's Guide and a copy of the local biata packet from Plot.
  • You can get a pdf copy of the rulebook for free here. There's also an article here on triaging the rulebook. Much of it will already be familiar to you but there will be some differences in the details.
  • See page 50 of the rulebook for character creation. You start with 15 Build Points.
  • Here's a brief FAQ sort of thing for Alliance LARP Denver.
  • There are a few more classes (p. 48 of the rulebook): Adept (like Templar in NERO, but a mix of Scholar and Rogue instead of the Templar mix of Scholar and Fighter), Scout (a mix of Fighter and Rogue), and Artisan (merchant/crafting class).
  • PCs cannot cast a permanent Circle of Power.
  • Wards don't have ward keys, and whoever is inside the ward when it's cast is invested in the ward automatically.
  • When doing a three-count of any sort, the number comes after the descriptor (e.g. "Killing blow 1, killing blow 2...", "I come out of the woods 1, I come out of the woods 2...", "I pick you up 1, I pick you up 2..." etc).