nebbie: NPC vs. PC

Carrie/Pebbles/AGM

Artisan
Wisconsin Staff
i am completely new to LARP and i am very interested in it. I want to get started right away but how? I am nervous about how my first event will go because i know nothing of the game. I have read the rule book cover to cover but should i dive right in or a NPC. i'm excited to start my character but at the same time i'm scared that i will hinder that game by not knowing things such as certain skills or spells or even what to say and when to say it..what should i do? any suggestions?

If you've read the rulebook cover to cover, you should be fine. People make mistakes all the time... even our fearless leader has started a healing incant with a "chaos" starter.
My advice to you is to PC if that's what you want to do. NPC otherwise. When you NPC, you're building up your future PC, so NPCing won't hold your PC character back.

thankyou for the advice...sadly i'm in the Chicago area..perhaps i will meet you another time..

I PC'ed my first time and I didn't feel overwhelmed at all. Then I NPC'ed and I was using skills and rules that I wasn't aware of. I flubed alot of lines and I felt like I was over my head. As a new PC other players will take you under their wings and make sure you are not only protected from baddies but also that you are properly guided through the nuances of the game. Like how to say the proper incant for a heal minor wounds. What do you do when hit with a drain spell. As an NPC you are also expected to know the rules well enough so that you don't slow down the game or create confusion among other PC's.