Prereqs for Formal Magic

Discussion in 'New Player Rules Questions' started by Grianadhmad, Jun 18, 2018.

  1. Grianadhmad

    Grianadhmad Artisan

    I understand that in both Celestial and Earth Magic, to purchase an nth level spell slot, you have to have n+1 of the previous level spell slots up to four. (i.e. to purchase Earth Level 4 the first time you have to have 2 Earth Level 3s, to purchase it a second time you have to have 3 Earth Level 3s, et cetera.)

    Does the same apply to Formal Celestial or Formal Earth? That is, do you have to have 2 Earth Level 9s before you can purchase Formal Earth? Or is it just as soon as you have any Earth Level 9?

    I am still months away from purchasing said formal but I'd like to be certain of what I'm doing. Thank you ^_^
     
  2. Ragnarok

    Ragnarok Adept

    You only need a single 9th level spell in order to purchase formal magic. You could have only a single 9th level spell and 50 levels of formal magic if you wanted! That being said I recommend still getting all of your 9th level spells since many formal magic abilities are tied to how many 9th level spells you can cast.
     
    MaxIrons and Grianadhmad like this.

Share This Page