What's a bard to do?

SDonahue

Hey everybody.

I'll be getting my feet wet with Alliance at HQ in April. I'm not sure if I want to PC or NPC my first event, but when I do create a PC I'm going to invest significantly in Craftsman (Bard). So I guess my question is, with four months to practice, what does everybody want to hear?

I've been an amateur singer/songwriter/flutist/guitarist since I was wee; so if the song is appropriate, I'm up for the challenge. Also, for anyone that's also musically inclined, I could invest some time in learning songs for which you may want accompaniment. Thanks!

~Steve

Steve,
Not sure what chapter you are going to be playing at, but I would suggest this as an awesome post to put on the OOG board for that specific chapter. (Not that it was inappropriate to post here as well, I'm always curious to learn game-appropriate songs myself and this is a great venue for that) It will get you interacting with people who you will be playing with, and will likely have the players at that chapter who play bardish-types comparing notes with you. Also you might want to check the specific chapter's rules for posting on the IG forums (usually stickied at the top) and post there as well. (Check if that's ok first, some chapters have rules against players posting IG without having a character in the database)
Hope this helped,
-toddo, HQ plot guy

A few songs that you can perform is great, but just plain "background music" is also appreciated. Everyone loves to listen to a bard in the tavern, but no one wants an hour long concert -- they would rather play the game, of course! Place your cap on the ground as you perform and collect the coins.

If you can get other musicians to join, all the better. Someone playing a drum can add a lot, and people may get up and dance too!

if you want to make friends quickly, learn Manowar songs. de-metal them, and play them at HQ. you will become very popular very quickly.

"Newry Highwayman"