[.11] Remove required packet colors?

I suppose the question is why were colors put forth in the first place and is that reason still a valid one? To me, the only thing I could see is to define what type of cauliflower hand the person was holding so that you could tell if they were casters or alchemists. Also (unless I have the rules wrong), you can steal an alchemy globe and thereby steal the alchemical gas; it would be important to be able to denote what is an alchemy globe in the game.

I don't know if blue is necessary as the bow would be a good indicator that they're probably carrying arrows.
Arrows and spells used to be the same color, but arrows had to have string or ribbon on them. In practice, this turned to having the ribbon or string wrapped around the stem of the packet instead of trailing behind as intended. In the last rules change, ribbons were removed, and arrows were made blue.

I should note I've been playing the game since 1992 so I've seen the changes over the years. Back when it was an unwritten policy that earth spells were green packets, celestial was blue, necromancy was red and alchemy was still orange. And before that, spell packets were made of corn starch and facial tissue so people could see the hit made by a spell.

And back in those days, bows were actual bows that fired padded arrows. Then the packet bow was introduced but packets had no color requirement. Then, for some reason, the ribbon was added - to make them look more like arrows I assumed. Then they turned blue. The question I have isn't about the history of (color) changes to arrows throughout the past but why were such changes decided to be put upon arrow packets specifically.

I remember the corn starch days, when packets were only reusable as long as it didn’t rain. >.>

And since I’m in the PNW, there wasn’t a lot of recyclin’.